Closing out an amazing 15th year, with 10,000 participants, and the most successful year to date, Fantaspoa Film Festival proudly brought Porto Alegre the best in fantastic cinema from around the world. Between May 16th and June 2nd, 2019, over 100 films were screened – with over 100 guests from many diverse countries – bringing together some of the world’s most talented artists in emerging genre cinema.

According to festival directors and producers João Fleck and Nicolas Tonsho, the 2019 edition was the most successful Fantaspoa has ever produced, given the media coverage and the massive audiences – with more than 10,000 participants taking part in this year’s festival.

Honored guests included, among others, director Ruggero Deodato (who celebrated his 80th birthday in the festival), actress Christina Lindberg (star of Thriller: A Cruel Picture), producer and screenwriter Larry Wilson (Beetlejuice) and legendary multi-hyphenate film icon Roger Corman.

Following the on-site marriage of Brazilian filmmaker Felipe M. Guerra (Deodato Holocaust), celebrated by Father Demian Rugna (director of Terrified) and featuring the blessings of guests Roger Corman and Christina Lindberg, the winners of Fantasia 2019 were announced.

Fantaspoa 2019 Award Winners

Short Films (Jury members Ignácio Lopez Vacas and Getro Guimarães)

Honorable Mentions:

For furthering the work of animation in Brazil: O Homem na Caixa, directed by Ale Borges, Alvaro Furloni, and Guilherme Gehr

For capturing the spirit of Cyberpunk: Robot Will Protect You, directed by Nicola Piovesan

Best Scream Queen: Sofía Peres (Dead Teenager Séance, directed by Dante Vescio and Rodrigo Gasparini)

Official Awards:

Best Brazilian Short Film: Médico de Monstro, directed by Gustavo Teixeira

Best International Animated Short Film: Wild Love, directed by Paul Autric, Quentin Camus, Léa Georges, Maryka Laudet, Zoé Sottiaux, and Corentin Yvergniaux

Best International Live Short Film: Tu Último Día En La Tierra, directed by Marc Martínez Jordán

Animated Feature Film (Jury members Bianca de França Zasso and Carlos Thomaz Albornoz)

Best Animated Feature Film: Seder-Masochism, directed by Nina Paley

Latin-American Competition (Jury members JJ Weber and Drew Thomas)

Honorable Mentions:

Best Lettering: Soy Tóxico, directed by Pablo Parés

Best Soundtrack: 7 Raons Per Fugir, directed by Esteve Soler, Gerard Quinto, and David Torras

Official Awards:

Best Actor: Pedro Barão Dias (Mutant Blast, directed by Fernando Alle)

Best Actress: Gabriela Ramos (¿Eres Tú, Papá?, directed by Rudy Riverón Sánchez)

Melhor Roteiro: Fernando Alle (Mutant Blast, directed by Fernando Alle)

Best Direction: Daniel de la Vega (Punto Muerto)

Melhor Filme: ¿Eres Tú, Papá? directed by Rudy Riverón Sánchez

International Competition: (Jury members André Kleinert and Diego Faraone)

Honorable Mentions:

For its Achievement in Cinematography: Ende Neu, directed by Leonel Dietsche

Artistic Contribution: His Master’s Voice, directed by György Pálfi

Best Bloodbath: Alive, directed by Rob Grant

Official Awards:

Best Actor: Eugene Simon (Kill Ben Lyk, directed by Erwan Marinopoulos)

Best Actress: Monique Gabriela Curnen (Model Home, directed by Patrick Cunningham)

Best Special Effects: HeadHunter, directed by Jordan Downey

Best Art Direction: I’m Lying Now, directed by Pawel Borowski

Best Screenplay: Brama (The Gateway), directed by Volodymyr Tykhyy

Best Director: Kirill Sokolov (Papa, Sdokhni)

Best Film: Wilkolak (Werewolf), directed by Adrian Panek

Best Film Audience Award: Alive, directed by Rob Grant

About the Author: Norman Gidney

Norm(an) Gidney is a nearly lifelong horror fan. Beginning his love for the scare at the age of 5 by watching John Carpenter's Halloween, he set out on a quest to share his passion for all things spooky with the rest of the world.
By Published On: June 9, 2019Categories: FANTASPOA FESTIVALComments Off on Fantaspoa Film Festival Awards The Best of the FestTags: , ,