During last month’s Resident Evil Showcase digital program, Capcom came out swinging with more details about the highly anticipated eighth chapter in the series, Resident Evil Village. Not only will it be officially available on May 7, 2021 on current generation consoles such as the PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S, but also on the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and of course, Steam. It will also be eligible to upgrade from PlayStation 4 to the digital PlayStation 5 version and will support Smart Delivery for Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One consoles.

This survival horror game continues the story of Ethan Winters, introduced in Resident Evil 7 Biohazard. In this demonstration, the development team revealed several new details, such as Ethan having the ability to purchase and sell items, buy recipes for crafting, and customize weapons with a merchant called “The Duke.”

A diverse cast of enemies was also introduced to us during the showcase, such as Lady Dimitrescu and her mysterious daughters who transform into swarms of insects. Although the enemies show are just a few of the large variety of obstacles Ethan will have to face throughout this game. With every enemy having different offensive strategies, Ethan will have to think on his feet in the ways of combat – such as attacking, perhaps with his new kicking move to shove enemies, or even guarding himself or straight up running away if it’s his only chance at survival.

PlayStation 5 owners are now able to get a sneak peek of the haunting Castle Dimitrescu located in Resident Evil Village with its stand-alone Maiden demo. While this experience is separate from the main game, it does demonstrate the 3D audio and stunning visuals players will also be seeing in the main game. Playing as the titular Maiden, players will have to think quickly in order to escape from the terrors that await.

A separate new demo will be available on all platforms later this Spring.

Pre-orders for Resident Evil Village are now available, with options for both digital and physical, Standard and Deluxe Editions, along with a physical Collector’s Edition. What each edition includes are below:

  • Deluxe Edition: 
    • Base game
    • A digital “Trauma Pack” which consists of additional in-game content, including a Samurai Edge weapon
    • Resident Evil 7 Biohazard inspired found footage screen filter and tape recorder save point options
    • Immediate access to an especially challenging difficulty setting, and more!
  • Physical Collector’s Edition:
    • Digital Deluxe Edition Content
    • A striking statue of franchise veteran Chris Redfield
    • A SteelBook case
    • Art book
    • A cloth map of the village with key art printed on the reverse side 

About the Author: Devon Tichenor

By Published On: February 10, 2021Categories: Game News, Games0 Comments